Writing Exercise

My hometown was a wonderful the worst place to grow up place to grow up.

I grew up in a place where there was always thugs on the corners or always posted up in front of your doorway. Getting a sharp pain of nervousness in your chest and the five seconds of your heart sinking in outta fear when someone approaches you from behind not knowing if something bad is about to happen or maybe your anxiety getting the best of you.

Laci had a rather eccentric style.

Laci favorite color had to be black. She wore all black everything from clothing to make up even her nail polish was black. It matched the black streaks in her what use to be blond hair.

Mr. Brown is the worst teacher I’ve ever had.

I was never fond of going to Mr. Brown class he always found any and every reason to send you to the principles office.

The room seemed very institutional (or choose your own adjective).

My friend living room set looked like she went shopping at a nursing home for furniture. The flowers on her couch matches the flowers on the wall paper and the curtains.

 

 

Scene

I’m Sitting down on the couch with my son watching ‘Yo Gabba Gabba’,  When suddenly our favorite part of the show comes on. We jump up and get ready to do the dancey dance. We danced for what seemed like forever. Then finally it was over, we plop back on to the couch and laughed. I pulled my son closer to my chest, kissed him on the forehead and said I love you. (I love you too) he said. My heart stopped for a second as tears of joy rolled down my eyes, I was in total shock for a second. I was never sure when or If I was ever going to hear my son who is Autistic say those words. It was the most amazing feeling ever. After I cherished that moment I called everyone in my phone book and told them that my little amazing guy just told me he love me for the very first time ever.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *